Teatime and daily rituals


 

I’m kind of a nerd in that every day I’m able at three o’clock I have tea time. (The Brits have their teatime at four but I just can’t wait that long.) I brew a pot of tea and assemble a plate of snacks that I will consume while sitting at my kitchen table and reading. It usually lasts for about an hour.
At first I started it because I would get hungry and bored since school isn’t in session. But As I continued, brewing the tea, cutting my apples, and picking out whatever would go with it, usually some baked good, cheese, and for awhile, walnuts from my mom’s coworkers tree, I realized how incredibly relaxing the whole process of it was.
It was time I took out of my day where I didn’t think about anything else but making my tea and food and possibly about which book to read. It was even more relaxing that the actual reading of the book and consuming of the food. A lull in the storm of adult responsibilities.
It started to make me think about other things I do that are rituals. When I drink coffee in the morning its more because I’m used to it than for any real kick from the coffee, the simple act of drinking that familiar warm drink in the morning is what wakes me up, not the caffeine. There are smaller rituals that you may not notice. The order in which I shower, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and face. What music I listen to when I do certain things.
Now when I don’t do a ritual I feel strange, off balanced, like something’s missing. It’s interesting how these small rituals are such a part of our daily lives. How they make up who we are.
So, what are some of your daily rituals?


 

my delicious teatime meal

Today's teatime, a gala apple, walnuts, cheddar cheese, a slice of potica, and a pot of tea

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Teatime and daily rituals

  1. miq says:

    I need to adopt teatime.

Leave a Reply

